Share |

Wednesday, December 18, 2002 -- Morgantown, WV
2002 MAGP Awards Reception (iPO Event Id#: 5357)
Photos by Don Parks

[Details] [Coverage] [Pic Set 1] [Pic Set 2]
[Men's Final Standings] [Women's Final Standings]

Tom Druge
Another proud award winner
The annual party that is the MAGP Awards Reception celebrated another year of great races. After enjoying a nice spread of hot and cold hors d'oeuvres in the Hazel Ruby McQuain Conference Center at Mon General Hospital, it was time for all the awards.

The first to be recognized were those that completed eight or more of the the ten races, quite an accomplishment. Roy Bate, Kenneth Ray, Keith Lucente, and Teresa Ray were tops in the class for going 10-for-10. For their efforts they added some nice embroidered MAPG zippered sweatshirts, along with the obligatory MAGP coffee mug.

Next up was the scholastic division with the top five men and women gathering up their plaques. Top honors went to Ben Booth and Melinda Berry Ann.

Finally came the open division top 15 in both the men's and women's fields. All of these winners took home plaques, coffe mugs and sweatshirts. Adding to this was a little cash money for the top four.

For the women it was a three-peat for Heather Bury followed by Johanna Fisher, Julie Warner and Barbara LaGodna.

Then men's division saw a new winner with Jim Banks taking top honors while two-time winner Ed Frohnapfel was just three points behind in second. Rounding out the top four were Bill Filcheck and Jim Bailey.

The final awards went, at random, to anyone who participated in a minimum of six series races. Four lucky runners took home $100 gift certificates to local sports stores.

But that didn't end the evening. All those in attendance received two tickets for free beverages at the Boston Beanery Restaurant and Pub. So the party moved there for some quality time reminiscing on the past years racing and making plans for 2003.

A big thanks goes out to the series sponsors, Recourse, Inc. and Mon General Hospital, along with the hard work put in all year by series director John May and the rest of West Virginia Track Club. And certainly, the biggest shout-out goes to all those that came out to the races to make the 2002 MAGP Series another huge success. We sure hope to see eveyone out again in 2003!